

## Bylaw 1 - Executive Positions and Elections

## Part 1 - Executive Positions

- 1. The Executive consists of the following Executive Committee Members, in accordance with rule 39(i) of the Deakin Law Students' Society (DLSS) Constitution:
  - a. a President;
  - b. a Vice President;
  - c. a Secretary;
  - d. a Director of Finance;
  - e. Two Directors of Sponsorship;
  - f. a Director of Activities;
  - g. a Director of Commercial Careers;
  - h. a Director of Communications;
  - i. a Director of Competitions;
  - j. a Director of Education;
  - k. a Director of Engagement;
  - I. a Director of Industry Careers;
  - m. a Director Marketing; and
  - n. a Director Social Justice & Equity.
- 2. The roles and responsibilities of the positions specified in rule 1 are to manage the business of the Association in accordance with the DLSS Constitution and the *Associations Incorporation Reform Act 2012* (Vic).
- 3. The Director of Finance may also be referred to as the Treasurer.



## Part 2 - Elections

- 4. Each person in physical attendance at a general meeting may only hold a single proxy vote.
- Only candidates who have previously held a Committee Member position are eligible to nominate for the position of President, Vice President, Secretary, Director of Finance, and Director of Sponsorship
  - a. If no nomination is received for a position listed in Rule 5 upon nominations closing, nominations must be reopened to all members, closing at 5pm on the day before the Annual General Meeting.
- 6. Presidential candidates may be asked questions following their nomination speech, for a maximum of 3 minutes, starting upon conclusion of the first question, with the order of questions to be determined by the Chairperson.
- 7. All candidates may be asked questions following their nomination speech, for a maximum of 2 minutes, starting upon conclusion of the first question, with the order of the questions to be determined by the Chairperson.